Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My name is Annabel Ruffell and I am the founder of Journey for Earth, a global awareness company committed to inspiring change for humanity, the environment and animals, one choice at a time.

Josh Garrett was born and raised in Southern California. Josh teaches exercise physiology and coaches track and cross country running at Santa Monica College. He started hiking as a teenager, with his best friend, a Golden Retriever named Lucy. He first thru-hiked the Pacific Crest Trail in 2009, returning to it in 2013 and completing the 2660 mile trek from Mexico to Canada in the fastest known time to date – 59 days, 8 hours and 14 minutes.

He hiked an average of 45 miles per day, through deserts and over mountain ranges, aiming to do it in the fastest possible time in order to show that a vegan diet gives us everything we need for health, strength, and endurance. Most of all Josh wanted to raise funds to support the vital work of Mercy For Animals.

Mercy for Animals does undercover investigations that document the horrors animals suffer, so unnecessarily, on factory farms and in slaughterhouses. Josh was deeply disturbed to learn that many animals confined on factory farms are locked in cages and stalls so small they can’t even walk, lie down comfortably, or turn around. He wanted to use his freedom to advocate for theirs. He chose to walk because they cannot.

974520_656061417757931_640516432_n(Photo Credit: Karen Dawn)

http://www.thankingthemonkey.com

http://www.dawnwatch.com

1) What Journey are You on?

I’m on a journey to make a difference with the limited time I have on this beautiful planet. Until a couple of years ago I didn’t know exactly where to focus my efforts, but it has since become clear. I want to help animals and raise awareness to their suffering.

2) What has been one of your greatest challenges over the years, either with the work that you do or in another area of your life, and how did you overcome it?

One of my greatest challenges has been accepting people as they are. I continue to struggle with that. I often wish more people valued the lives of animals and were more kind. But then I remember it was only two years ago that I myself didn’t value the lives of animals as I ate them on a daily basis. It wasn’t until I visited a farm and met the very animals I was eating that I realized they are no different from my dogs whom I love dearly. Once I made that connection I started looking at ALL animals in the same light and have been vegan ever since. A lot of people simply haven’t been exposed to situations which facilitate that connection being made. I have to be patient and remind myself that not long ago I was in that same place.

3) What is your greatest hope for our planet at this time?

My hope for our world is that more and more people will start caring for our world and those in it, and that involves eating much less meat and animal product. A vegan diet is not only better for our health and the animals; it’s better for our planet. And that’s not me talking; those are the facts.

355vXGRvyz1fAelQ2WQK4nezNgMNMFd20CpI6KtDkdc(Photo Credit: Karen Dawn)

What Journey are YOU on?

Journeyforearth.com