Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

My name is Annabel Ruffell and I am the founder of Journey for Earth, a global awareness company committed to inspiring change for humanity, the environment and animals, one choice at a time.

Frank Bruynbroek is a dog photographer. He has published a beautiful book called Compawssion: Portraits of Rescued Dogs which Diane Keaton has described as:

“…inspiring, elegant and it elevates our consciousness.”

According to the ASPCA, approximately 5 to 7 million pets enter animal shelters nationwide every year, and approximately 3 to 4 million are euthanized—that’s one every six and a half seconds. In addition, millions more are abandoned, only to suffer from illness or injury before their untimely death. Frank Bruynbroek is fighting to change these statistics. In his words:

We each have one life in which to make a difference—to inspire, to find our own path, and to accept each crossroad as it comes. The more I stimulate my sense of observation and explore this wild and untamed force called life, the more I unlearn and dismantle my values and my beliefs one by one. With the passing of years, I’m surprised at where life takes me, while it whispers in my ear, “Don’t expect anything; enjoy the ride!”

This book is for the underdogs in all of us.

Being a dog photographer is not a profession I chose. It chose me. It happened in a most unlikely time and place. In the midst of my tears, while scattering the ashes of my puppy Rosalie in the park she loved so much, I made myself a promise to use my talents to contribute to the welfare of animals. Out of my devastation and grief came a vision for this project, and I began to work on a book of portraits of dogs rescued from the streets and from shelters. It was time for me to give back and to contribute to a cause that grew bigger and bigger in my heart. Dogs give us so much love every day that I wanted to reach all those wondrous souls all at once.

page-about

http://www.compawssion.com

1) What Journey are YOU on?

The journey I am on is one that doesn’t really ever find a destination. It is a never ending journey. A few years ago  I probably would’ve thought that my answer was very naïve, overused and corny. Today it is the very first one that pops up into my head. I am on the journey of finding “the truth of my life”. I am on the journey of finding what my mission is. The journey of inspiration and authenticity. I want to feel safe whatever I do, wherever I go, whomever I’m with and in any situation i am in, simultaneously I want to give safety around me by avoiding being judgmental and by finding love and compassion towards every living being. It is the journey of acceptance, resilience and letting go by surrendering to what is.

2) What has been one of your greatest challenges over the years, either with the work that you do or in another area of your life, and how did you overcome it?

One of the greatest challenges if not the greatest one was to welcome love into my heart. It really took a lot of years to nurture the idea that it could just be a beautiful thing. Once I opened my heart, listened, spoke and took action from it a whole new landscape showed up with all new possibilities.

Most of my fears dropped down like a house of cards and continue to do so. 

3) What is your greatest hope for our planet at this time?

I don’t know if I like the word “hope”. Hope seems like it’s out of desperation and gives me the impression that we are just waiting for something to happen. I believe in evolution and each generation has to define its own. At a certain level, we are all responsible, we are all connected and a simple action I take will have a significant repercussion at the other side of the world. 

I don’t know how strong the planet really is. I don’t really know how much it has been damaged and if it’s at a point of no return I have no idea but I believe that each and every one of us has to do their part to make sure that we leave it in a better shape than we found it. If everyone did their part, if everyone does their best I think that it is tremendous. I think that we have to learn to fight “for” something and not “against” something.

about

large_book_large_large

What Journey are YOU on?

Journeyforearth.com