Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

My name is Annabel Ruffell and I am the founder of Journey for Earth, a socially conscious media company that shares the personal journeys of inspiring individuals making a positive impact in the world.

On a regular basis I am also going to be posting other peoples articles that I find inspiring – and also inviting people to submit a piece – on the topics of: environment, animals, humanity, health, parenting, and anything else that inspires thought, connection and supports us in being the best that we can be.

I would like now to introduce Deanna Dylan Scott, who is big time animal crusader, and a vegan consultant and coach who does in person, skype and telephone consulting and coaching to help individuals and families transition to a plant based lifestyle.

https://i0.wp.com/vegidea.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/IMG_0463.jpg

http://www.vegidea.com

My entire family is now vegan. My husband would go many months with no dairy and then do a slice of pizza or something such as for lunch. He was a big meat eater when we met and his cheese consumption was over the top. He has really educated himself about nutrition,agriculture and factory farming and he has found his own road to veganism. It has been cool to see him really grow in compassion and awareness. I laugh because sometimes I have to tell him to tone it down with people not ready to hear all that he has learned and benefited so greatly from. He says what I hear so many new vegans say and that is “I just didn’t know”. Once you do, change is inevitable unless you want to live in denial.I know some people will choose that path but not my husband which is fantastic for me.

My daughter is now 22 months old and a true vegan. She has never eaten an animal or drank another species milk. She is thriving and beautiful,tall for her age and her compassion level is high. I wonder sometimes if the veganism has something to do with it or if that is simply her personality. Some Buddhist teachings suggest a diet free of flesh and blood leads to a higher capacity for compassion. When she was only 10 months old she would cry tears when hearing a sad song or seeing sadness in others. It was kind of amazing.My husband had a hard time believing it at first until he witnessed it many times. Anyway I could go on and on bragging about my girl because her skills are abundant and she’s perfection to me but I won’t.

My three pooches are vegan now as well. They have always been vegetarian but now I found Halo dog food and they love it so it’s that and smart dogs,carrots,green beans,lentils and pasta among other dishes for these lucky bitches. Two of them are 10 years old and one is four. They do great and I take them to the vet pretty much just for shots. Georgia did dislocate her kneecap and had to have a surgery last year. I guess it’s common in her breed and a birth defect that worsens over time.Other than that they also thrive as vegans. Believe it or not they are obsessed with carrots, it’s like a treat or a bone to them.They each have a favorite food. One loves spaghetti anytime. All I have to do is call out “Pasta” and she comes running. My tiniest one loves bread and my oldest dog is more a bean and smart dog lover.

Looking back on 2012 and our ever evolving diet. I would say we strive to eat mostly whole foods such as fruits,vegetables and grains a lot more. We do an array of stir fry dishes,soups and salads weekly. I always make a batch of quinoa (high protein grain) and a big bowl of pasta for the week. One night is always a big chopped salad with lots of avocado,beans and veggies. I make a fantastic carrot  soup and also roasted red pepper and butternut squash. We love homemade soups. I think I do stir fry once or twice a week with delicious sauces. We are big Indian food fans and indulge often. I make my famous spicy veggie chili and spaghetti is my favorite dish on earth. We mix it up and I try something new at least a few times a month to add lots of variety. My husband takes over for pizza night and uses daiya cheese. We only do this once a month. We dine out every week at vegan restaurants and mainstream as well. I can find vegan items on any menu.

We are a family who loves to cook and dine out. Food is a definite pleasurable hobby. We just do it with optimum health in mind and also in consideration of the earth’s resources and animals.

New Year and here’s to an evolving consciousness in 2013

What Journey are YOU on?

http://www.journeyforearth.com