Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

My name is Annabel Ruffell and I am the founder of Journey for Earth, a global awareness company committed to inspiring change for humanity, the environment and animals, one choice at a time.

Windy Borman, is the Director and Producer of The Eyes of Thailand, a documentary about 2 elephant survivors that after losing their legs from stepping on landmines are given a second chance to walk again. I had the honor of seeing the documentary last year and it is truly a powerful, heart-wrenching, inspiring film. I highly recommend watching it!

Windy_IMG_0623

http://www.eyesofthailand.com

1) What Journey are You on?

I’m on a journey toward peace, acceptance, compassion and gratitude. I believe “The Eyes of Thailand” was also a journey of self-actualization to become the artist/filmmaker/person I knew was always there, and now I’ve given her an authentic voice.

2) What has been one of your greatest challenges over the years, either with the work that you do or in another area of your life, and how did you overcome it?

They say the average production for a documentary takes 5-7 years. “The Eyes of Thailand” took 4.5 years between my first trip to Thailand, where I discovered the Friends of the Asian Elephant (FAE) Elephant Hospital, and the film’s world premiere in April 2012. The film came out on DVD in February 2013 and we have plans to roll it out onto other platforms, as well, so we’re at 5.5 years and counting.

Throughout the filming, the story changed as new events unfolded, and I had to decide to commit to telling the story the best way possible and accept that it will probably take longer than I wanted it to. Along the way I learned and re-learned the lessons of patience and acceptance, and I learned to trust the process. It may not be on my timeline, but every great story has its own timeline and if you want to do it justice, you need to let go and accept that.

3) What is your greatest hope for our planet at this time?

My greatest hopes are that globally we will conserve and protect all animals, especially Asian elephants, and every country will ban landmines once and for all. We’re seeing some progress with Thailand’s Prime Minister announcing that they will start cracking down on the illegal ivory trade and every year more and more countries sign the Mine Ban Treaty. Currently, 161 countries have signed the Mine Ban Treaty, but 35 have not. The United States is one of the non-signatories and this needs to change.

To hear more about these beautiful elephants and Windy’s work, watch our interview here:

What Journey are YOU on?

JourneyforEarth.com